Recent Achievements

External Recognition 2013-14

Recent Faculty Achievements

The 2014 Alberta Magazine Publisher's Association Awards
Eighteen Bridges received four gold awards for feature writing, fiction, poetry and cover design, as well as a silver award in fiction.

The 2013 Western Magazine Awards
Eighteen Bridges received 12 nominations overall, and was awarded with one gold medal and three written category prizes: Gold Award Best Article - Alberta/NWT, Arts, Culture and Entertainment, Public Issues, and Alberta/NWT Magazine of the Year.

2013 National Magazine Awards
Eighteen Bridges (Canadian Literature Centre) received 10 nominations and was awarded the gold medal in Humour and the silver medal in Society. The magazine also received eight Honourable Mention awards.

2013 Alberta Book Publishing Awards
Barbara Langhorst ('95 BA, '96 MA, '04 PhD) won the Robert Kroestch Poetry Book Award for Restless White Fields

Periodical Writer's Association of Canada
Eighteen Bridges (Canadian Literature Centre) was awarded a silver medal for Best Article

Order of Canada
One of our country's highest civilian honours, recognizing a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to community and service to nation
Greg Hollingshead (Professor Emeritus, English & Film studies)

Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal

A national honour in recognition of the significant contributions citizens from across Canada have made to their communities
Brian Evans (Professor Emeritus, East Asian Studies)
Thomas Peacocke (Professor Emeritus, Drama)

Armitage-Jameson Prize
Honours the most outstanding monograph or edited volume published in western women’s and gender history annually.
Sarah Carter (History & Classics) and Patricia McCormack (Native Studies) for their book, Recollecting: Lives of Aboriginal Women of the Canadian Northwest and Borderlands

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Anneliese Maier Research Award 2013
Recognizes international collaboration in the humanities and social sciences.
Jeff Pelletier (Philosophy)

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Faculty Fellowship
This Fellowship provides two years of funded research, tenable at two institutions.
Robert Nichols (Political Science)

American Association of Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages (AATSEEL) Award
Best Contribution to Language Pedagogy
Alla Nedashkivska (MLCS) for her book, Ukrainian Through Its Living Culture

2013 3M National Teaching Fellowship
From the Society of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education; recognizes exceptional contribution to teaching and learning in Canadian Universities. Up to 10 fellowships are presented annually.
Heather Zwicker (English & Film Studies)