2014 Celebration of Excellence

Tuesday May 6, 2014

As we recognize the contributions of all faculty and staff whose efforts contribute to the Faculty’s outstanding reputation. Some of this year’s stars include:

**NEW** Best Teaching Practices in Science Panel Discussion, CCIS L2-190, 10–11:30 am

Come hear a few of the Faculty of Science teaching award winners discuss their teaching practices and how/why they work. Panel members include janice Cooke (biological sciences), Alex Brown (chemistry), Paul Lu (computing science), Al Meldrum (physics) and Anthony Singhal (psychology), and educational developers Genevieve Maheux-Pelletier and Natasja Saranchuk from the Centre for Teaching and Learning.

Celebration of Excellence in Teaching and Research

CCIS First Floor PCL Lounge, 11:45 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

Lunch at 11:45 a.m., with program to follow at 12:15 p.m.

Faculty of Science Research Award

Michael Bowling, Computing Science

Faculty of Science Graduate mentoring Award

Rich Palmer, Biological Sciences

Faculty of Science Award for Excellent Teaching

Eric Rivard, Chemistry & Martyn Unsworth, Physics/Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Faculty of Science Innovation in Teaching Award

H. James Hoover & Michael Bowling, Computing Science

Faculty of Science Service Award

Cynthia Paszkowski, Biological Sciences

Kathleen W. Klawe Prize for Excellence in Teaching of Large Classes

Karsten Loepelmann, Psychology 

**New** Unveiling of Teaching Honor Roll


Please RSVP by Friday May 2, 2014 if you are attending the luncheon as food is pre-ordered.