

2024 Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Recipients Announced

Contents

Recipients Announced	. 3
Faculty of Agricultural, Life & Environmental Sciences	4
Faculty of Arts	4
Alberta School of Business	4
Faculty of Education	5
Faculty of Engineering	5
Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, & Recreation	6
Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry	6
Faculty of Nursing.	6
Faculty of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences	6
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine	6
Faculty of Science	7

Graduate students serve as role models, inspire and shape innovative teaching practices and add to the transformative undergraduate student experience.

Recipients Announced

There is a universal understanding of what makes a great teacher—no matter which student you ask, they can all identify a teacher who has had an impact on their learning. Sometimes teachers leave a lasting and pivotal impression on their students by motivating lifelong learning, sparking a passion, developing a culture of compassion and enriching their lives.

Here at the University of Alberta graduate student instructors, whether they serve as teaching assistants or principal instructors, develop some of the strongest connections with our students. Graduate students serve as role models, inspire and shape innovative teaching practices and add to the transformative undergraduate student experience. They do so at a time when teaching and learning on campus have undergone a tremendous evolution over the past few years in response to Covid; the need to address equity, diversity and inclusion; to Indigenize and decolonize courses and pedagogical practices; and as well a comprehensive restructuring of the institution itself. We would like to take this opportunity to recognize the talent, dedication and inspiration all graduate students have provided during this time. We especially want to acknowledge those graduate students who have been identified by their faculties for their exceptional contributions to teaching and learning.

Faculty of Agricultural, Life & Environmental Sciences

Emilee Storfie Lucia Gago Ross Evode Nshimiyimana Megan MacElheren

Agriculture, Food, and Nutritional Sciences Human Ecology Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology Renewable Resources

Faculty of Arts

Joshua Ayer	Political Science
Malou Brouwer	Modern Languages and Cultural Studies
Laticia Chapman	Political Science
Lily Diamond	Philosophy
Ehsan Kashfi	Political Science
Jennifer Laughton	Anthropology
Lisa Lawrence	Modern Languages and Cultural Studies
Melanie Oberg	English and Film Studies
Michael Peel	Art and Design
Devan Prithipaul	Political Science
Leigh-Ann Waldropt-Bonair	Sociology
Stephen Webb	English and Film Studies
Matthew Weigel	English and Film Studies
Leyi Zhou	East Asian Studies

Alberta School of Business

Arkadiy Lenchak Jennifer Sloan Finance Strategy, Entrepreneurship & Management

Faculty of Education

Amy Domenique Gadsden Danielle Gardiner Milln Sean Groten Gillian Robinson Stephanie Schuurman-Olson

Faculty of Engineering

Hamidreza Abediasl **Yogashree Bharath Tae Hyun Calvin Chung** Joao Dourado Maha Ead Shyama Gandh Julia Grenke **Erik Halliwell Chester Jar Tianxiang Jiang** Mostafa Khalil Tsolmonbaatar Khurelbaatar Neda Mazloum Khaled Mohamad **Inshik Park** Harshitha Rajashekhar **Rishiekesh Ramgopal** Harikrishna Rao Mohan Rao **Mustajab Safarov Yeganeh Saffar** Lynn Shehab **Zachary Tervonen** Zhijie Wang Paola Vottero

Mechanical Engineering Chemical and Materials Engineering **Civil and Environmental Engineering Civil and Environmental Engineering** Mechanical Engineering **Electrical and Computer Engineering** Chemical and Materials Engineering **Electrical and Computer Engineering** Mechanical Engineering **Electrical and Computer Engineering Civil and Environmental Engineering** Mechanical Engineering **Electrical and Computer Engineering Civil and Environmental Engineering Civil and Environmental Engineering Electrical and Computer Engineering** Chemical and Materials Engineering **Electrical and Computer Engineering Civil and Environmental Engineering** Mechanical Engineering **Civil and Environmental Engineering** Chemical and Materials Engineering Electrical and Computer Engineering **Biomedical Engineering**

Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, & Recreation

Jimena Lopez Lamas Leslie Ternes Robert Vranich

Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry

Benjamin Schultz

Oncology



Faculty of Nursing

Elizabeth Darko

Faculty of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences

Danielle Nagy

Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine

Kathryn Lambert

Occupational Therapy

Faculty of Science

Baraa Abdelsamad Saja Al-Smadi **Albion Arifi Joshua Billson Gill Brandon Colton Carlson** Harrisen Corbould **Jose Correa Ramos Rim Daher** Ishani Dasgupta **Coleman Dean Eric Dorais James Favell** Adam (Mack) Flowers Shan Gao Zachariah Phillip Lee Goldthorpe **Emily Halina Amanda Hanashiro Moraes Brette Harris Ellen Hayhoe** Mark Holmstrom **Raphael Huwyler** Carolin Jaworski Luke Kapeluck Artem Khegay Spencer Killen Alex Koek Jordan Koop **Anthony Kovac Kristina Kublik Travis Kronemann** Michelle Landry **Chester Lau Dagmar Loftsdottir** Vishwajeet Ohal

Computing Science Psychology Physics **Computing Science** Mathematical & Statistical Sciences Chemistry Physics **Biological Sciences Biological Sciences Computing Science** Physics Earth & Atmospheric Sciences Chemistry Chemistry Mathematical & Statistical Sciences Mathematical & Statistical Sciences **Computing Science** Chemistry Earth & Atmospheric Sciences **Biological Sciences Computing Science** Mathematical & Statistical Sciences Chemistry **Computing Science** Chemistry **Computing Science** Physics Earth & Atmospheric Sciences **Biological Sciences** Earth & Atmospheric Sciences Chemistry Earth & Atmospheric Sciences Chemistry **Computing Science Computing Science**

Faculty of Science

Jiarui Ma Chemistry **Bernal Manzanilla Saavedra Computing Science** Santiago Miro Trejo Physics Melissa Misutka **Biological Sciences** Kareem Moghrabi **Biological Sciences** Noel Murasko Mathematical & Statistical Sciences Naveenraj Muthuraj **Computing Science** Leanne Petro **Biological Sciences** Jenna Poelzer **Biological Sciences** Ali Rafiei **Computing Science Kian Razavi Satvati Computing Science** Jai Riley **Computing Science** Maria Rodriguez Gallo **Biological Sciences Brittany Sauter Biological Sciences** Shaina Selles **Biological Sciences** Jacob Serpico Mathematical & Statistical Sciences **David Simpson** Psychology **Jillian Sims Biological Sciences Ciara Stewart** Earth & Atmospheric Sciences Max Stratmann Physics Tomasz Michal Szczepanski Mathematical & Statistical Sciences **Computing Science** David Szepesvari **Foivos Viktor Tsianos** Chemistry **Biological Sciences** Isla Turcke Abhishek Vayalillath Madom Muralidharan Chemistry **Ryan Watt** Chemistry Shaun Woudstra Earth & Atmospheric Sciences **Oichao Wu** Chemistry Sadia Zahin Prodhan **Computing Science** Shupei Zhang **Computing Science Huifeng Zhang** Physics Psychology Jingyi Zhang



