

One hundred years of research excellence

Congratulations to **Dennis Hall**, professor of chemistry at the University of Alberta, one of only six researchers in Canada—the only one in the West—awarded a prestigious **2008 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship**

by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council.

An expert in organic chemistry, Dr. Hall is the fourth U of A researcher in three years to be recognized with the NSERC Steacie Fellowship.

This award will advance Dr. Hall's research with boronic acids, environmentally-friendly compounds that are "molecular jacks of all trades" and are the building blocks of more than a quarter of all pharmaceutical drugs.

Dr. Hall is part of a world-leading chemistry department that counts eight
Steacie Fellows in its history.

As the University of Alberta marks its Centenary in 2008, we celebrate our past and present NSERC Steacie Fellows:

Dennis Hall (2008) - Chemistry Jillian Buriak (2007) - Chemistry Andrzej Czarnecki (2006) - Physics Todd Lowary (2006) - Chemistry Wolfgang Jaeger (2002) - Chemistry Simaan AbouRizk (2001) - Civil and **Environmental Engineering** Wayne Grover (2001) - Electrical and **Computer Engineering** Chris Le (2000) - Public Health Sciences/ Chemistry Mark Freeman (1999) - Physics Norm Beaulieu (1999) - Electrical and **Computer Engineering** Jonathan Schaeffer (1998) - Computing Science Jed Harrison (1996) - Chemistry Ole Hindsgaul (1993) - Chemistry Norm Dovichi (1992) - Chemistry RE Peter (1988) - Biological Sciences MM Razavy (1966) - Physics

www.ualberta.ca



100 1908·2008

UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA

EDMONTON, ALBERTA, CANADA