Graduate Programs

Graduate Program Department Contacts

In general, contact the Associate Chair (Graduate) with questions of an academic nature. Graduate administrators are your first point of contact for technical questions about your program.

Department of Anthropology

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Andie Palmer
Email: andie.palmer@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.9481

Graduate Administrator: Heather Cook
Email: anthgrad@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2329

Department of Art & Design 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Lianne McTavish
Email: lmctavis@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.3016

Graduate Administrator: Dawn McLean
Email: dawn.mclean@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492-7866 

Comparative Literature Program

Please see MLCS below.

Department of Drama 

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Piet Defraeye
 Email:  defraeye@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.1097
 
Graduate Administrator: Ruth Vander Woude
Email: ruth.vanderwoude@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.2274

Department of East Asian Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Daniel Fried
Email: dfried@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.1097

Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.248.1256

Department of Economics 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Todd Smith
Email: smithrt@ualberta.ca  
Phone: 780.492.7989

Graduate Administrator: Audrey Jackson
Email: audrey.jackson@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.7634 

Department of English & Film Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Julie Rak
Email: efsgrad@ualberta.ca

Graduate Administrator: Kim Brown
Email: kim.brown@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.4701

Department of History & Classics 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Adam Kemezis
Email: hcgrad@ualberta.ca
 

Graduate Administrator: Lydia Dugbazah
Email: lydia.dugbazah@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2698

Humanities Computing Program

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Scott Smallwood
Email: scott.smallwood@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.1510

Graduate Administrator: Barb Heagle
Email: barb.heagle@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2174

Department of Linguistics

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. David Beck
Email: david.beck@ualberta.ca
Phone:780.492.0807

Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.248.1256

Department of Modern Languages & Cultural Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Victoria (Vicky) Ruetalo
Email: victoria.ruetalo@ualberta.ca
 
Graduate Administrator: Eva Glancy
Email: glancy@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.3273

Department of Music 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. David Gramit 
Email: dgramit@ualberta.ca  

Graduate Administrator: Twilla MacLeod
Email: tjmacleo@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.0603

Department of Philosophy

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Amy Schmitter
Email: amy.schmitter@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.9030
 
Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2368

Department of Political Science 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Cressida Heyes
Email: cheyes@ualberta.ca
Phone:780.492.0535

 
Graduate Administrator: Caroline Kinyua
Email: caroline.kinyua@ualberta.ca  
Phone: 780.492.4771

Department of Psychology 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Chris Sturdy
Email: chris.sturdy@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.7843

 
Graduate Administrator: Anita Mueller
Email: psygrad@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492-0969

Religious Studies Program

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Felice Lifshitz
Email: felice@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.0593

Graduate Administrator: Barb Heagle
Email: barb.heagle@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2174

Department of Sociology

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Sara Dorow
Email: sdorow@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.4301
 
Graduate Administrator: Nancy Evans
Email: nancy.evans@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.5236

Department of Women's Studies

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Felice Lifshitz
Email: felice@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.0593

Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2368