Graduate Programs

Graduate Program Department Contacts

In general, contact the Associate Chair (Graduate) with questions of an academic nature. Graduate administrators are your first point of contact for technical questions about your program.

Department of Anthropology

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Andie Palmer
Email: andie.palmer@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.9481


Graduate Administrator: Heather Cook
Email: anthgrad@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2329

Department of Art & Design 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Steven Harris
Email: steven.harris@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.7867
 
Graduate Administrator: Dawn McLean
Email: dawn.mclean@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492-7866 

Comparative Literature Program

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Massimo Verdicchio
Email: massimo.verdicchio@ualberta.ca
 
Graduate Administrator: Eva Glancy
Email: glancy@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.3273

Department of Drama 

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Piet Defraeye
 Email:  defraeye@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.1097
 
Graduate Administrator: Ruth Vander Woude
Email: ruth.vanderwoude@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.2274

Department of East Asian Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Anne Commons
Email: acommons@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.9107
 
Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.248.1256

Department of Economics 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. David Ryan
Email: david.ryan@ualberta.ca  
Phone: 780.492.5942
 
Graduate Administrator: Audrey Jackson
Email: audrey.jackson@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.7634 

Department of English & Film Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Corrinne Harol 
Email: charol@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.4639
 
Graduate Administrator: Kim Brown
Email: kim.brown@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.4701

Department of History & Classics 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Dennis Sweeney
Email: dennis.sweeney@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.0849
 
Graduate Administrator: Lydia Dugbazah
Email: lydia.dugbazah@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2698

Humanities Computing Program

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Geoffrey Rockwell
Email: grockwel@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492-3307
 
Graduate Administrator: Janey Kennedy
Email: janey.kennedy@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492-4802 

Department of Linguistics

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. David Beck
Email: david.beck@ualberta.ca
Phone:780.492.0807

Graduate Administrator: Elizabeth French
Email: elizabeth.french@ualberta.ca 
Phone:780.492.4190

Department of Modern Languages & Cultural Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Victoria (Vicky) Ruetalo
Email: victoria.ruetalo@ualberta.ca
 
Graduate Administrator: Eva Glancy
Email: glancy@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.3273

Department of Music 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Guillaume Tardiff
Email: gtardif@ualberta.ca  
Phone: 780.492.0535

Graduate Administrator: Twilla MacLeod
Email: tjmacleo@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.0603

Department of Philosophy

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Amy Schmitter
Email: amy.schmitter@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.9030
 
Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2368

Department of Political Science 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Malinda Smith
Email: malinda.smith@ualberta.ca 
Phone:780.492.0535
 
Graduate Administrator: Caroline Kinyua
Email: caroline.kinyua@ualberta.ca  
Phone: 780.492.4771

Department of Psychology 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Tom Spalding
Email: spalding@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.4607
 
Graduate Administrator: Anita Mueller
Email: psygrad@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492-0969

Religious Studies Program

Graduate Coodrinator: Dr. Felice Lifshitz
Email: felice@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.0593

Graduate Administrator: Janey Kennedy
Email: janey.kennedy@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492-4802

Department of Sociology

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Sara Dorow
Email: sdorow@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.4301
 
Graduate Administrator: Nancy Evans
Email: nancy.evans@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.5236